FREE DATABASES

​

Free Full text databases JOURNALS​

• Acta Medica Philippina – A general medical and health science journal published by the University of the Philippines Manila and the Philippine Council for Health Research and Development.  It publishes papers in the field of basic and clinical medical or health-related research.

 

• arXiv.org – An open-access archive managed by Cornell University for scholarly articles in STEM disciplines — physics, mathematics, computer science, quantitative biology, quantitative finance, statistics, electrical engineering and systems science, and economics.

 

• Asian Development Bank’s Evaluation Reports – provides a full Catalogue of Evaluation Reports comprising of the following: Technical Assistance Performance Evaluation Reports, Project/Program Performance Evaluation Reports, Special Evaluation Studies, Assessments of Development Impact, Impact Evaluation Studies, Sector Assistance Program Evaluations, Country Assistance Program Evaluations, and Annual Evaluation Reports.

​

• BMC – Committed to providing access to journals covering all areas of biology and medicine.

 

• CERN Document Server – CERN offers fulltext preprints, articles, books, journals, and other documents of interest to persons working in particle physics and its related areas.

 

• Chan Robles Virtual Law Library – This website is known to be the “Home of the Philippine On-line Legal Resources.” It “features on the world wide web its Comprehensive Electronic Library on Philippine Legal Resources.”

 

• Directory of Open Access Journals (DOAJ) – Quality controlled scientific and scholarly journals covering all subjects and languages.

 

• EUR-Lex – a service providing legal texts of the European Union on its official website europa.eu. Replacing the earlier service CELEX, EUR-Lex provides direct free access to European Union law. The system makes it possible to consult the Official Journal of the European Union and it includes inter alia the treaties, legislation, case-law and legislative proposals. It offers extensive search facilities.

 

• EUROPA – the official website of the European Union. The EU is one of the largest publishers of online information in the world. Access the register of documents of the EU institutions for all official EU documents.

​

• Free Medical Journals – Promotes access to medical journals over the internet. 

​

• Guide to Open Access Journals – looks at some of the most reputable open-access journal websites, as well as paid subscription databases that are still widely used by traditional college students.

​

• Highwire Press – Major source of free access to high impact, peer reviewed life sciences journals on the internet sponsored by Stanford University Libraries.

​

• NORMLEX (Database of International Labour Standards) – is a new information system which brings together information on International Labour Standards (such as ratification information, reporting requirements, comments of the ILO’s supervisory bodies, etc.) as well as national labour and social security laws. It has been designed to provide comprehensive and user friendly information on these topics and includes the NATLEX database as well as the information which was previously contained in the former APPLIS, ILOLEX and Libsynd databases.

​

• Johns Hopkins APL Technical Digest – Published by the Johns Hopkins University – Applied Physics Laboratory, the journal focuses on “missile, radar, sonar, sensor, chemical biological, and information technologies; space science and engineering, microelectronics; communications; navigations; modeling and simulation; advanced research and technology development.”

​

• Labordoc – contains references to a wide range of print and electronic publications, including journal articles, from countries around the world, on all aspects of work and sustainable livelihoods, and the work-related aspects of economic and social development and human rights.

​

• LawPhil – The legal website of Arellano Law Foundation’s digital resources of Philippine laws, statutes, jurisprudence, presidential decrees, executive orders, administrative orders, lawyers tools and other legal materials.

​

• National Bureau of Economic Research (NBER) – a leading nonprofit economic research organization. The Bureau concentrate on four types of empirical research: developing new statistical measurements, estimating quantitative models of economic behavior, assessing the economic effects of public policies, and projecting the effects of alternative policy proposals.

​

• National Institute of Standards and Technology (NIST) – The NIST Data Gateway allows access to NIST scientific and technical data, encompassing a wide range of information pertaining to varied scientific disciplines and links to some free online NIST database and articles published in the journal of Journal of Physical and Chemical Reference Data (JPCRD).​

​

• Proceedings of the National Academy of Sciences (PNAS) – the official journal of the US National Academy of Sciences, which is an authoritative source of high-impact, original research that broadly spans the biological, physical, and social sciences.

• PubMed Central – Offers unrestricted access tothe U.S. National Library of Medicine’s digital archive of life sciences journal literature.

​​

• Scientific Journals International – SJI publishes peer-reviewed open-access journals for all disciplines. SJI has assembled the most prestigious and extensive Editorial and Advisory Board in the world, representing scholars from Princeton, Yale, Oxford, Harvard, Cambridge, MIT, Columbia and other leading universities from around the world.​

​

• Social Science Research Network – The SSRN e-Library contains abstracts of over 359,800 scholarly working papers and forthcoming papers and over 293,500 downloadable full text documents in Adobe Acrobat PDF format. Composing of a number of specialized research networks in each of the social sciences, the e-Library also includes research papers of a number of Fee Based Partner Publications.​

​

• World dataBank: World Bank’s Open Data Initiative – Offers open and free access to over 2,000 financial, business, health, economic and human development data for more than 200 countries, with the data going back to 50 years. Access to at least 20 World Bank Group databases, including: World Development Indicators, Global Development Finance, Global Economic Monitor, Actionable Governance Indicators, Doing Business Database, Health, Nutrition and Population Statistics.

​​​​

​Directory of Open Access Thesis and Dissertations

• Louisiana State University (https://digitalcommons.lsu.edu/)

• OhioLINK Electronic Theses and Dissertations Center (http://etd.ohiolink.edu/)

• Electronic Theses and Dissertations at Virginia Tech (http://scholar.lib.vt.edu/theses/)

• California Institute of Technology (http://thesis.library.caltech.edu/)

• West Virginia University (http://wvuscholar.wvu.edu:8881/R?RN=586654367)

• North Carolina State University Libraries (http://www.lib.ncsu.edu/ETD-db/ETD-search/search)

• University of Kentucky (http://archive.uky.edu/handle/10225/2)

• Brigham Young University (http://etd.byu.edu/collection.html)

​

• EThOS–  a collection of doctoral research theses from the United Kingdom participated by various institutions national thesis service linking copies of e-thesis and dissertations to the various participating institutions.

​

Free Documentary Films

• Top Documentary Films – offers full watchable documentaries and information on documentaries by quoting reviews from trusted sources.

​

Free Access e-Books

• OUP Open Access titles – select academic textbooks and research titles published by Oxford University Press in the various subjects.

​

• Biblioboard – A community platform for sharing books read and independent educational videos.  Browse through academic materials and enjoy leisure readings.

​

• Bielefeld Academic Search Engine (BASE) -BASE is managed by Bielefeld University Library, they index materials and  it contains academic web resources from more than 8,000 content providers.

​

• Directory of Open Access Books (DOAB) – academic and scholarly books covering a wide range of subjects.

​

• EU Bookshop (http://bookshop.europa.eu/en/home/) – An online bookshop and archive of publications from the European institutions. It is managed by the Publications Office of the European Union in Luxembourg.

​

• Free Computer Books (http://freecomputerbooks.com/) – Powered by Google, here you will find some good free full text online collection of computer, programming, mathematics, engineering, technical books, as well as lecture notes and tutorials.

​

• Free Tech Books (http://www.freetechbooks.com/) – Quit recently published, it lists “free online computer science, engineering and programming books, textbooks and lecture notes, all of which are legally and freely available over the Internet”.

​

• Library of Economics and Liberty (https://www.econlib.org/) – A website dedicated to “advancing the study of economics, markets, and liberty”. It offers a “unique combination of resources for students, teachers, researchers, and aficionados of economic thought”.

​

• OUP Open Access titles – select academic textbooks and research titles published by Oxford University Press in the various subjects.

​

​​​

​

​

​

​

​

​

​

​